Sunday, December 10, 2006

Team awards announced

The team banquet was held Sunday afternoon at the Rome Commons Ballroom on campus. Here's the team award winner list.

Team MVP: Fullback Deon Anderson. Named for his vigor and work ethic every practice even more than his performance on the field.

Offensive MVP: Tailback Donald Brown. Brown made quite an impression considering he didn't make his first start until the Oct. 29 game at Rutgers.

Defensive player of the year: Defensive tackle Rhema Fuller. Started every game, making 37 tackles, 3.5 sacks and 7.5 tackles for losses.

Special teams player of the year: Punter Chris Pavasaris. His 40.1 average ranks seventh all-time on the single-season list at UConn.

The second annual Joseph M. Giannelli Unsung Hero Award: Defensive tackle Ray Blagman and wide receiver Brandon Young. Blagman also started all 12 games, making 36 tackles. Young played through various injuries and was second on the team with 19 catches.

The John L. Toner Scholar Athlete Award was presented to both Fuller and Pavasaris. Fuller was a finalist for the Draddy Trophy, which carries an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. Pavasaris was nominated for the Rhodes and Marshall scholarships and has a 3.89 GPA.

The Football Alumni Award went to senior cornerback Ernest Cole. The honor is bestowed upon the Husky who best exhibits leadership and dedication and is viewed as the ultimate team player.

The Kendall Madison Award was given to senior tailback Terry Caulley (Lusby, Md.) who was recognized for being a “strong team player who’s dedication, hard work and outstanding citizenship best exemplify the strong spirit of the UConn Huskies.

The Brian Kozlowski Award was shared by senior offensive lineman Matt Applebaum (Yardley, Pa.) and senior place kicker Matt Nuzie (Trumbull, Conn.) for being courageous, hard working and productive.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home