Wednesday, September 07, 2016

UConn's Shirreffs named Golden Helmet winner

UConn junior quarterback Bryant Shirreffs was named the winner of the New England Football Writers' Association Gold Helmet winner (at the FBS/FCS level) after throwing for 162 yards and rushing for 95 in a 24-21 win over Maine, It is the second time Shirreffs has received the award and both times it came after a season opener as he was the recipient following last year's win over Villanova.

The 95 rushing yards are five shy of his career high set last year against South Florida.

Shirreffs now has three of the eight best rushing performances by a quarterback in UConn history. It was his fifth game with at least 75 rushing yards which is a record for a UConn QB. The previous mark of three was held by Madison's Ken Sweitzer, in his first season as the sideline reporter for UConn football games on the UConn Football Radio Network.

Navy announced that its two team captains Toneo Gulley and Daniel Gonzales will wear uniform No. 2 for the remainder of the season in honor of injured quarterback Tago Smith who played behind Keenan Reynolds for three seasons and then saw his season end with a knee injury in the first game of the season.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home