Sunday, August 02, 2015

No real surprises on UConn's roster

At this time of the year when there is talk about team rosters, no news is good news so it is a promising sign that taking a quick look at the current roster and comparing it to the spring game player list, the only players missing are tight end Sean McQuillan, whose career came to an end after an arrest for assault and disorderly conduct and walk-on offensive lineman Jacob Basilica.

Also, all 22 players announced as part of the incoming freshman class are on the roster along with seven walk-ons (long snapper James Bedell, quarterback Brandon Bisack, receiver Bryan Coney, linebacker Jack Dexter, safety Chris Jean-Pierre, linebacker Luke Sowa and defensive lineman Tom Tabur).

There were a couple of number changes as cornerback Brice McAllister went from No. 33 to 16 and linebacker Vontae Diggs changed from No. 59 to No. 13.

Look for more info to emerge about the upcoming season when Bob Diaco, offensive tackle Andreas Knappe and safety Andrew Adams meet with the media at Tuesday's American Athletic Conference media day in Newport, R.I. Diaco is set to meet with the media on Thursday when the team reports for the start of preseason practice.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home