Friday, July 27, 2012

2012 roster is up

Thought I'd pass along that UConn has posted its roster.

Former Xavier High star Graham Stewart, who transferred from Florida, is on the roster (and has been given No. 24) as is freshman lineman Andreas Knappe from Denmark, who is listed as a defensive tackle.

Looking at the roster from the final game of the 2011 season, I see 12 players with eligibility remaining who are not on the roster:
Linebacker Andrew Opoku (has transferred to Delaware)
Safety Jerome Junior (dismissed from team)
Cornerback Tevrin Brandon (dismissed from team)
Linebacker Matt Edwards (graduated)
Fullback Brendan McLaughlin
Cornerback Chris Lopes (transferred to Sacramento State)
Fullback Mark Hinkley (transferred to Bryant)
Linebacker Jerome Williams (previously reported that he would be transferring)
Tight end Corey Manning (graduated)
Tight end Teddy Baker (transferred to Wesleyan)
Tight end Mark Hansson

I do find it worth noting that a couple of former Southern Connecticut Conference stars received some prominent numbers. Former Hillhouse lineman and freshman center Rennick Bryan will wear No. 57 which was worn with tremendous distinction by former starting center Moe Petrus in the past four years. Also former Xavier High star Sean Marinan, a preferred walk on, was given No. 99 which was the number worn by Kendall Reyes. I also noticed at least three number changes as safety Ty-Meer Brown goes from No. 40 to No. 15 and running back Martin Hyppolite goes from No. 45 to No. 25 and Deshon Foxx, who wore No. 10 last year, is now wearing No. 4.

UConn also announced that practices will be open to the public on Tuesday Aug. 7 from 3-5:30 p.m., Tuesday Aug. 14 (3-5:30) and Saturday Aug. 18 (8:45-11:15 a.m.) on the practice fields off of Alumni Drive.


Anonymous Anonymous said...

foxx #4?

July 27, 2012 4:18 PM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home