Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Hernandez wins Walter Camp Award

UConn related only by association, but note-worthy none the less. I always look forward to who the Walter Camp Football Foundation honors as the Connecticut Player of the Year. It's Bristol's Aaron Hernandez, a tight end at Florida and brother of ex-UConn QB/WR D.J. Hernandez.

Here's part of the press release:

Former Bristol Central High School standout Aaron Hernandez , a junior tight end from the University of Florida, has been named by the Walter Camp Football Foundation as its 2009 Connecticut Player of the Year.

Awarded annually to the top college football player who is a resident of the state of Connecticut, the Connecticut Player of the Year is selected by the all-volunteer membership of the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

This season, Hernandez leads the third-ranked Gators (12-1) in receptions (59) and ranked first among tight ends in the Southeastern Conference in receptions, receiving yards (739) and receiving yards per game (56.8).

Here is the list of past winners:
2009: Aaron Hernandez, Florida, Bristol
2008: Kory Sheets, Purdue, Manchester (Bloomfield HS)
2007 Mike McLeod, Yale, New Britain
2006 Kory Sheets, Purdue, Manchester (Bloomfield HS)
2005 John Sullivan, Notre Dame, Greenwich
2004 Anttaj Hawthorne, Wisconsin, Hamden; Dan Orlovsky Connecticut, Shelton
2003 Dan Orlovsky, Connecticut, Shelton
2002 Niko Koutouvides, Purdue, Plainville
2001 Dwight Freeney, Syracuse, Bloomfield
2000 Peter Mazza Yale Cheshire
1999 Bobby Myers Wisconsin Hamden
1998 Carl Bond Connecticut Hamden
1997 Kyle McIntosh Syracuse Cheshire
1996 Tarek Saleh Wisconsin Woodbridge (Notre Dame-WH)
1995 Tarek Saleh Wisconsin Woodbridge (Notre Dame-WH)
1994 Jason Miska Auburn Bridgeport (ND-Fairfield HS)
1993 Chris Zingo Cornell Fairfield (Fairfield Prep)
1992 Curtis Eller Villanova Stratford
1991 Corey Vincent Holy Cross Shelton
1990 Rob Thomson Syracuse Southington
1989 Terry Wooden Syracuse Farmington
1988 Glenn Antrum Connecticut Ansonia
1987 Bill Romanowski Boston College Vernon
1986 Richard Comizio Pennsylvania New Fairfield
1985 Tom Patton Holy Cross Meriden
1984 no recipient
1983 Steve Young Brigham Young Greenwich
1982 Mike Marshall Southern Connecticut Bridgeport
1981 Rich Diana Yale Hamden


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home