Thursday, August 18, 2016

27 UConn football players earn AAC All-Academic honors

The American Athletic Conference announced its all-academic honorees for the 2015-16 year and 27 members of last year's UConn football team made the cut.

Starting quarterback Bryant Shirreffs, starting offensive linemen Tommy Hopkins and Andreas Knappe, defensive starters Luke Carrezola and Obi Melifonwu as well as No. 1 kicker (Bobby Puyol) and punter (Justin Wain) were among those honored.

I found it interesting that six of the top 10 offensive linemen on this year's UConn team were among those to make the grade as Hopkins and Knappe were joined by Steve Hashemi, Dan Oak, Kyle Schafenacker and Brendan Vechery.

Also, three of the four captains from the 2015 team (Knappe, Andrew Adams, Marquise Vann) were recognized for their work in the classroom.

Here are the football players who made the list with players on this year's team in bold
Andrew Adams
Frank Battle
JJ Bivona
Brandon Bisack
Kyle Bockeloh
John-Luke Bogue
Luke Carrezola
Jeremy Claflin
Steve Hashemi
Tommy Hopkins
Andreas Knappe
Nick Lensander
Sean Marinan

Josh Marriner
Aaron McLean
Obi Melifonwu
Dan Oak

Andrew Paluch
Bobby Puyol
Will Rishell

Dave Ryslik
Kyle Schafenacker
Bryant Shirreffs

Marquise Vann
Brendan Vechery
Justin Wain
Tahj-Anthony Wilson


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home