Saturday, December 12, 2015

UConn's best of the best honored at banquet

There's still a game to be played but the UConn football team gathered to recognize the best of the best during the run to a 6-6 regular-season mark and the first bowl game appearance since the 2011 Fiesta Bowl on Friday night.

Unfortunately, it was at the same time at the women's basketball game between UConn and Florida State at Mohegan Sun Arena so I wasn't able to attend the second-annual team awards shows.

Senior safety Andrew Adams, who leads the Huskies with 52 solo and 89 total tackles, was named the team's Defensive Player of the Year while junior receiver Noel Thomas (a team-leading 54 catches and 719 receiving yards) and sophomore running back Arkeel Newsome (who led the Huskies with 760 rushing yards and 1,621 all-purpose yards) shared the Offensive Player of the Year Award.

Junior kicker Bobby Puyol, who was 15 of 17 on field goals and 10 of his 22 kickoffs went for touchbacks, was awarded the Special Teams Player of the Year Award while punter Justin Wain, recognized for attaining a 4.0 grade point average, was named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Here are the other award winners:
Jasper T. Howard Award (Outstanding Skill Player): Jamar Summers
Brian Kozlowski Award (Outstanding Big Skill Player): Luke Carrezola
Kendall Mason Award (Outstanding Power Player): Foley Fatukasi
Most Improved Player: Junior Joseph
Joseph M. Gianelli (Newcomer of the Year): Bryant Shirreffs
Alumni Bleed Blue Award: Graham Stewart
Look Team Player of the Year: Billy Williams

What is interesting is that of the 12 players honored, 10 of them are slated to be back next season.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home