Saturday, December 13, 2014

Adams, Foxx, Lee among winners at UConn Football Awards show

UConn brought the 2014 season to a close by holding the Husky Football Awards Show at the Rome Commons Ballroom on campus.

Senior receiver Deshon Foxx was named the Offensive Player of the Year, junior safety Andrew Adams was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year while junior defensive back Wilbert "Junior" Lee was named the Special Teams Player of the Year.

Also being honored were sophomore offensive tackle Andreas Knappe (Joseph M. Giannelli Newcomer of the Year), sophomore safety Obi Melifonwu (John L. Toner Scholar-Athlete Award), junior defensive lineman Julian Campenni (Kendall Madison Award for the most outstanding power player), senior receiver Geremy Davis (Jasper T. Howard Outstanding Skill Player Award), junior long snapper Dominick Manco (Football Alumni Bleed Blue Award), junior linebacker Graham Stewart (Kozlowski Award) and sophomore defensive lineman Sean Marinan (Look Team Player of the Year).

As has been the case for everything else first-year coach Bob Diaco has done this season, the awards followed a different script. Normally season-ending awards are dominated by honors given to the team captains and seniors. However, Davis was the only one of the four captains to receive an award and of the 10 awards given out, just two went to seniors. I also found it curious that Knappe, who has been with the program for three year was named the team's newcomer of the year but congrats to him as he made tremendous strides over the course of the season after moving from defense to offense. Hard to argue too much with the three major awards given out. Adams was UConn's best player, Foxx provided some of the most explosive plays on offense while Lee was an absolute terror on the special teams coverage units, which ranked among the nation's best.

Here's the list of finalists for the other awards with the winner listed first.

Joseph M. Giannelli Newcomer of the Year Award: OT Andreas Knappe.  P Justin Wain, CB Jamar Summers, RB Ron Johnson.
John L. Toner Scholar-Athlete Award: S Obi Melifonwu, CB Byron Jones, TE Tommy Myers, RB Josh Marriner.
Kendall Madison Award: DT Julian Campenni, OT Andreas Knappe, OG Tyler Samra, DT Mikal Myers..
Jasper T. Howard Outstanding Skill Player Award: WR Geremy Davis, Foxx, Jones, WR Noel Thomas.
Football Alumni Bleed Blue Award: Dominick Manco Marriner, DB Nick Vitale, DT Mikal Myers.
Kozlowski Award: LB Graham Stewart, FB Jazzmar Clax, TE Sean McQuillan, LB Marquise Vann.
Look Team Player of the Year: DL Sean Marinan, DB Chris DeBerry, WR Tony Tully, QB Bryant Shirreffs.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home