Tuesday, July 29, 2014

UConn releases its depth chart

UConn posted a depth chart in its preseason prospectus being handed out at American Athletic Conference media day. Not a ton of surprises and plenty of co-starters being listed. Actually, all Casey Cochran, Chandler Whitmer and Tim Boyle all named as starters at quarterback.

On the offensive line Richard Levy is the No. 1 left tackle, Zach Rugg and Gus Cruz are the co-starters at LG, Alex Mateas and Tyler Samra are the starters at center and right guard while Andreas Knappe and Dalton Gifford are co-starters at right tackle.

There are no surprises at the offensive skill positions as Max DeLorenzo (tailback), Jazz Clax (fullback), Geremy Davis and Deshon Foxx (receiver) and Sean McQuillan (tight end) are the starters although redshirt freshman Josh Marriner is the Co-No. 1 guy at tailback.

What's interesting is that on defense they list starters in a 4-3 formation even though the Huskies are expected to play a 3-4.

No real surprises here as Angelo Pruitt and Reuben Frank are the defensive ends, B.J. McBryde and Julian Campenni are at defensive tackle and nose guard while Graham Stewart, Marquise Vann and Jefferson Ashiru are the linebackers. The secondary features starting corners Byron Jones and Jhavon Williams with returning starters Obi Melifonwu and Andrew Adams the No. 1 guys at safety.

Freshmen Thomas Hopkins (left offensive tackle), Tommy Myers (tight end), Josh Marriner (tailback), Thomas Lucas (receiver), Foley Fatukasi (defensive tackle), Cole Ormsby (defensive end), Cameron Stapleton (linebacker) and Jamar Summers (cornerback and only true freshman on two-deep chart).

Marriner is listed as one of the two kickoff returners along with Foxx. Foxx, Dhameer Bradley and Nick Vitale are in in the mix as punt returners while Justin Wain and Bobby Puyol are the starters at punter and kicker.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home