Wednesday, July 06, 2011

Ryan Griffin on Mackey Award watch list

BETHPAGE, N.Y. (July 6, 2011) – University of Connecticut junior tight end Ryan Griffin (Londonderry, N.H.) has been named to the preseason watch list for the 2011 John Mackey Award preseason released by the Nassau County Sports Commission.

Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by a vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The 2011 John Mackey winner will be presented live at the Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on December 8, 2011 at 6pm EST on ESPNU.

Griffin has been UConn’s starting tight end for the past two seasons as he has played in 24 games with 18 starts. He was a very productive blocker in both the rushing and passing games in 2011.

Griffin earned an Offensive Game Ball following the Pittsburgh win (Nov. 11) along with other blockers in recognition of UConn’s 265 rushing yards, including 222 by Jordan Todman. Griffin has three pass receptions for 21 yards in regular season finale at USF as UConn clinched a berth in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl – its first-ever BCS game.

The following is a complete list of the watch list:

Dwayne Allen Clemson Jr

Brandon Barden Vanderbilt Sr

Tim Biere Kansas Sr

Ted Bolser Indiana So

George Bryan NC State Sr

Orson Charles Georgia Jr

Josh Chichester Louisville Sr

Jack Doyle WKU Jr

Drake Dunsmore Northwestern Sr

Kyle Efaw Boise St Sr

Michael Egnew Missouri Sr

Tyler Eifert Notre Dame So

Rhett Ellison USC Sr

Coby Fleener Stanford Sr

Ladarius Green Louisiana Sr

Ryan Griffin Connecticut Jr

Joe Halahuni Oregon St Sr

Cooper Helfet Duke Sr

DC Jefferson Rutgers Jr

Kevin Koger Michigan Sr

Eric Lair Minnesota Sr

Brian Linthicum Michigan St Sr

Philip Lutzenkirchen Auburn Jr

Anthony Miller California Sr

Chris Pantale Boston College Jr

David Paulson Oregon Sr

Colter Phillips Virginia Jr

Nick Provo Syracuse Sr

Lucas Reed New Mexico Jr

Kyler Reed Nebraska Jr

Evan Rodriguez Temple Sr

Jake Stoneburner Ohio St Jr

Michael Williams Alabama Jr

Luke Willson Rice Jr